Loksabha Elections: Why BJP Went All Out To Keep Chirag Paswan On Board In Bihar – Why did BJP use all its strength to keep Chirag Paswan on board in Bihar…? theinsiderinsight

Chirag Paswan's party forms alliance with NDA, will contest on 5 seats

Bihar (Bihar Loksabha elections 2024) When it came to Chirag Paswan versus uncle Pashupati Paras, a few weeks before the elections, BJP has finally taken a big decision and chosen a side. Even if this might have cost the displeasure of Nitish Kumar, who has recently returned to the NDA alliance. BJP has accepted Chirag Paswan's demand for five seats, including Hajipur seat, from where his father Ram Vilas Paswan was elected 7 times and from where his uncle Pashupati Paras had won in 2019.

Read also

BJP has taken lead in the battle of NDA alliance in Bihar. She will contest elections on 17 out of 40 seats. Nitish Kumar's party will contest elections on 16 seats. Chirag Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party will contest elections on five seats. Upendra Kushwaha and Jitan Ram Manjhi will contest from one seat each.

Pashupati Paras, who broke the LJP by rebelling with nephew Chirag Paswan in 2021, has now joined the ranks of BJP's abandoned allies along with Dushyant Chautala in Haryana.

The matter has been reached after long talks between BJP and Chirag Paswan. Earlier, Lalu Yadav's RJD had offered him 8 seats, but he compromised with BJP on 5 seats.

Let us tell you that the major vote share in Bihar is in double digits with Nitish Kumar's party, Lalu Yadav's party and BJP. Paswan's party has 6 percent of the vote share, tied with Chirag Paswan, whose father Ram Vilas Paswan is the most influential leader of the community.

Despite Nitish Kumar's return to NDA, Chirag Paswan made a strong place for himself in the alliance. Chirag did not even call Nitish and the BJP leadership accepted his demand for seats after talks, due to which the Pashupati Paras faction has lagged behind badly.

Lok Janshakti Party was torn into two in 2021
Actually, after the death of Ram Vilas Paswan in the year 2021, his Lok Janshakti Party broke into two parts. One faction of it 'Rashtriya Lok Janshakti Party' is with his brother Pashupati Kumar Paras, while the other faction is with his son Chirag Paswan. Lok Janshakti Party had got 6 seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections under partnership with NDA. LJP had won on all these 6 seats. After the split in the party, LJP has 5 MPs along with Pashupati Kumar Paras. Meanwhile, Chirag Paswan is the MP from Jamui seat. However, Chirag Paswan still calls his faction LJP(R) the original party of Ram Vilas Paswan. He has many arguments for this. For the first time in the Nagaland Assembly elections held last year, LJP (Ram Vilas) had won 2 seats and stood second on 8 seats. Chirag Paswan had fielded Lok Janshakti Party in the 2020 Bihar Assembly elections without any alliance. The party got only one victory in those elections.

Related Posts

1 of 266