border gavaskar trophy india vs australia 5 match test series first time after 1991-92 theinsiderinsight

India vs Australia Test Series: Cricket Australia has made a big announcement regarding the Test series between India and Australia. Actually, now five test matches will be played instead of four in the Border Gavaskar Trophy to be held between India and Australia. Cricket Australia has announced this on Monday.

It is noteworthy that this will happen after 32 years in Test cricket when a five-match Test series will be played between the two countries. Earlier in 1991-92, a five-match Test series was played between India and Australia. This series, played for the Border Gavaskar Trophy, will be the highlight of Australia's 2024-25 schedule. Its program will be released in the coming days.

Team India will now play five tests in Australia

Cricket Australia posted on social media 'X', “For the first time since 1991-92, a five-match Test series will be played between Australia and India. This Test series will be played this summer. The series will be the highlight of the domestic schedule for 2024-25.”

Jay Shah, Secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), said in a Cricket Australia press release, “The BCCI remains steadfast in its dedication to preserving the rich heritage of Test cricket. It is a format we respect the most. “Our collaboration with Cricket Australia to extend the Border Gavaskar Trophy to five Test matches reflects our collective commitment to promoting the importance of Test cricket.”

The first test match of this series can be played in Perth. Cricket Australia President Mike Baird said, “Given the intense rivalry between our two countries, we are very pleased that the Border Gavaskar Trophy has now been reduced to five Test matches.”

Indian team's performance on the last Australian tour

The Indian team last went on Australian tour during 2020-2021. At that time only 4 Test matches, 3 ODI and 3 T20 matches were played between the two teams. Especially if we talk about Test matches, Australia had won by 8 wickets in the first match. In the second match, the Indian team was victorious by 8 wickets, but the third match was a draw. The fourth match could have drawn the series, but thanks to the historic innings of Rishabh Pant, India won this match by 3 wickets.

Related Posts

1 of 279