WPL 2024: Historic day for RCB, won the title after 16 years; Delhi was crushed in the final theinsiderinsight

WPL 2024 Final: The final match of the second season of the Women's Premier League took place on March 17 between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals. This match was played at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Delhi captain Meg Lanning won the toss and decided to bat first, but her team could not capitalize on this opportunity and got all-out on the score of only 113 runs.

Delhi Capitals collapsed for 113 runs

After winning the toss, Delhi Capitals captain Meg Lanning came into the field to open and Shafali Verma was present at the crease to support her. Both of them gave a good start to the team and in 7 overs the team had scored 64 runs without losing any wicket. Then in the seventh over, Sophie Moulineau dismissed Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodriguez and Alice Capsey in just 4 balls. Where the team's score had increased from 64 runs for 0 wickets to 64 runs for 3 wickets. The Delhi team could not recover from these setbacks and the rest was completed by Shreyanka Patil, who took 4 wickets for 12 runs in 3.3 overs. Apart from Lanning and Shafali, no batsman could perform for Delhi.

Women's RCB won the title for the first time

Bangalore had a great start. In this low-scoring match, there was an important partnership of 49 runs between Smriti Mandhana and Sophie Devin for the first wicket. Devin played an innings of 32 runs in 27 balls, hitting 5 fours and 1 six. Captain Mandhana played a slow but important inning of 31 runs in 39 balls. Ellyse Perry batted brilliantly throughout the tournament and scored a lot of runs in the finals as well. He played an unbeaten inning of 35 runs in 37 balls. Richa Ghosh made RCB the champion for the first time by hitting the winning shot.

Also read:

DC VS RCB: Delhi faltered after a stormy start, RCB all out for 113 runs in the final; Sophie Molineux turned the match

Related Posts

1 of 279